History Commons Groups

December 6, 2009

A. Q. Khan Timeline Undergoes Minor Reorganisation

Filed under: A.Q. Khan Nukes — kevinfenton @ 2:37 pm
Tags:

There have been some changes to the timeline focusing on the nuclear supermarket run by Pakistani nuclear scientist A. Q. Khan. Primarily, I took the three categories covering various officials that had worked against the Khan network, British customs agent Atif Amin, US intelligence analyst Richard Barlow and former CIA NOC Valerie Plame Wilson and grouped them into a special meta-category called Counterproliferation Officials Working against A. Q. Khan Network.

I figure this makes more sense, as the reader can see the parallels between them (they all investigated Khan and got stymied, although in Plame Wilson’s case her investigation of Khan was maybe only one of two reasons for her outing). Amin and Barlow are more-or-less complete, but Plame Wilson still needs a lot of work. Max is working on her as a part of the Iraq-Niger project, and I will simply pilfer what is relevant to her link to Khan when that gets published. Naturally, not everything we have about Plame Wilson will go in this category, just what is relevant to Khan.

I also though about adding a special category for Gordon Oehler, whose case is not dissimilar to that of Barlow, but in the end I thought we just don’t have that much about him (and none of it has been published), so I figured I wouldn’t yet.

Otherwise, there was a slight change to the various countries in the A. Q. Khan’s Proliferation Network meta-category, and they now have clearer long names (like “The A. Q. Khan Network’s Operations Concerning Britain” instead of just “Britain”). The idea behind this is to make it clearer to readers and search engines what is on each page–I have noticed that several of the categories throughout HC’s various projects have names that might be clear to the contributors who originally created them, but might not be clear to readers, so I am trying to clear this up where possible through using clearer long names. I guess I should also differentiate suppliers (like the US) and customers (like Libya), but that hasn’t been done yet.

Finally, the order of categories in the US Relations to Pakistani Nuclear Program meta-category has been changed round slightly, so the categories now follow on from each other more logically than before.

As those familiar with Khan’s operations will notice almost immediately, there are massive gaps, and huge chunks of information are missing. I figure one would need about 2,000 entries to cover everything, which would take some time to input. I don’t really see how I’ll ever get close to that, but for now I’ll just keep ploughing on with a little more every month.

1 Comment »

  1. Kevin, pilfer away.🙂

    I figure one would need about 2,000 entries to cover everything, which would take some time to input. I don’t really see how I’ll ever get close to that, but for now I’ll just keep ploughing on with a little more every month.

    That’s all of us. I could write 10,000 more entries and still not be caught up on the subjects I’m investigating. That’s why we need people willing and able to volunteer their time and expertise to help cover these and other subjects!

    Comment by Max — December 8, 2009 @ 5:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

